"Map" input and output pipes

Here is a suggestion for greatly improving mapping (which I believe is the only weak spot of an otherwise outstanding tool - which I am loving!).

Currently, mapping has no pre-processing, so you are very limited in the choice of controllers and actions you can effectively use for mapping, unless you “waste” an input and output for a MIDI loop (as synthdad does in some video of theirs).

This could be improved in an elegant and consistent way by just adding a “MAP input” and a “MAP output” pipe. They would work exactly as any oher input / output pipe, the only difference being they would pre-process map triggers instead of real or virtual IO ports. That would allow even “dumb” MIDI controllers to manage midihub complex patches.

If this proposal is too nerdy, sorry for that, I am a developer :smiley:

Hey, yep, we’ll likely see something along these lines in the future. :wink:

Maybe only a special ‘map output’ though, how would a map input be used?

2 Likes

You are right, ‘map input’ makes little sense.

I was thinking of ‘map input’ as a special input where only already mapped triggers where present, but in hindsight that would defeat most purpose of map pipelines, because you could only change the values of the messages (eg change a CC value or ‘note on’ velocity) but not the message type itself (eg remap a cc, a note message, channel, etc)

What’s really needed is just map output. It’s more straightforward and more effective.

Btw that would be awesome! Two use cases:

• Currently, I am using a controller which I find excellent (Studiologic Mixface, no involvement with them) but it’s a little too dumb in some areas: it can’t do inverted switches like Beatstep (whch as a controller is inferior in any other area). So I am adding a filter pipe with mapped bypass to each pipeline, which works as a NOT operator. Being able to do the NOT operation just once in a map pipeline would be great.