Is it possible to edit "Mapping" MIDI?

I’m very new to Midihub, sorry if this topic is already answered or clear.

I would like to setup a Transport pipeline were I can use an external knob to switch between “-12 , -6, 0, +6, +12” and not access every value between -64 and +64.
In order to do this I tried to use the CC filter and use a specific range per octave.
Example: CC 0-25.4 enables octave -12, CC 25.5-50.9 enables octave -6, CC 51-76.9 enables octave 0, etc…

Long story short: I figured out that I might miss the feature to build pipes for MIDI mapping.
Is this included or am I able to recreate a Transport pipeline with given steps instead of open?

At the moment it’s not possible, but we plan to build on the mapping system to enable use cases like this. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Excellent news :slight_smile:

@Giedrius
I think this is possible. Or have I missed the point somewhere?
This patch involves the “synthdad hack”. As you’re new to Midihub, @johnnyjules , you may not know it; it involves running a cable out from Midihub and back in to “fool” the Map feature.
Here’s the patch, Oliver, and here’s how to set it up:
TransposeStepped.mhp (392 Bytes)

1. I’ve got my notes and CCs running into mA, BUT
  2. I first set up my Transpose Map by connecting my controller up to mD temporarily; I twiddled CC107 (Transpose gets full range initially but…)
  3. plugging controller back in mA and running a patch cable from_mD~> to_mD, I’m then ready to Rescale:
  4. The first Rescale collapses the full range down to just 8 steps
  5. The second enlarges the range to 48 meaning each of the 8 jump 6 each time
  6. The vA sends the scaled CC out to mD to come back in mD to control the Transpose, the transposed notes go from_mA to your synth.

The range is a wider than what you wanted, but it does go nicely -18, -12, -6, 0, +6, +12, +18, +24. You might be able to improve it with a bit more fiddling of ranges.

1 Like