Routing lowest/highest notes to different outputs

Hi!

I am new to Midihub but have a reasonably good understanding of programming in general, so the whole block matrix is not too intimidating. But there is a preset I’ve been trying to make, but just can’t figure out how to do.

I want to be able to receive a chord from an input, and then split that chord so that the lowest played note is sent to Output A, the full chord as played to Output B, and then the three highest notes through an arpeggiator pipe to Output C. But I cannot find the correct pipe to filter and prioritise single notes within a chord? I am sure I am missing something obvious here? Anyone with an idea how to achieve this?

The Dispatcher pipe seems to not be able to prioritise notes, just randomly split a chord onto different channels.

Thank you!

2 Likes

Interesting! Seems like something to implement if there is isn’t a way of achieving this at the moment. Very useful

The problem would be that the chords lowest notes always shift. So you want to take a chord high up or low down on the piano and always send the highest notes to an arpeggiator.

If you work in a specifik register, like if the notes you want to send always are from C5-C8 perhaps it would work with note remap pipes or a note range filter.

But I don’t know.

2 Likes

Yeah, I agree @Claire_Upz , interesting and something that would find a lot of takers.
Like you, i can’t think of a way of doing it at present. My hunch is Currently Not Possible as it goes beyond the single-event-in model and would therefore be departure from the current approach as it would entail making a real-time comparison of a collection of events.
Unless we’re wrong, @Jarly , maybe post it up as a feature request?