Pisound app patches

Garage beat is ridiculously fun, kudos to the creators ! But does anyone else find it lagging slightly when using inbuilt effects?
If it’s does it’s ok with me… I’m new to this and I trying to make sure my system is optimised… using a pi3

Hi, yeah the patch is great :slight_smile:

The patch seems to be running fine performance wise on Pi 3 with 2018-03-13-raspbian-stretch.img

Try running top to see whether there is some high CPU usage process running other than puredata itself.

Thanks for the feedback but I’m still encountering this issue. I’m running stretch on a Pi3 . When I load the garage beats patch and use the fx I see at times 100% cpu usage by puredata as reported by top. Very little other load on cup vnc and top the two other process maxing out at approx 5%. I have set the sample rate to 48k Im not sure what else i can do to optimize. I have a ‘official’ pi power source. I’ve read power supply issues sometimes manifest as intermittent noise issues.
Can i ask are you running the pi headless?

puredata process uses only around 54.6% on my RPi 3 with effects on, seems to work just fine. This time I used tightvncserver to see the GUI of the patch.

If you have a spare SD card you may try flashing the latest Raspbian Desktop image, install puredata and Pisound software, and check whether it performs better.

Btw, what power supply are you using?

I am using the stontronics power supply. The CPU maxing out is unusual the usage displayed by ‘top’ differs quite a bit from the CPU usage on the desktop toolbar for example ‘top’ showing 75% usage the desktop 16%. also just leaving the patch to run without interacting with it gets spikes in the CPU usage 10-15% randomly. ill pick up another SD card and try your suggestion of a fresh install.