Reliable interval output after Dispatcher pipe

Hi Midihub newbie here. Such a incredible device this little box is. Kudos to the devs. I’m trying to build the seemingly ever elusive strum. My attempt is to simply use

Pipe line 1-Dispatcher to split chord notes to different channels- ch filter 1- output
Pipe line 2-Dispatcher- ch filter 2- ch remap 1- delay 100 percent wet- output
and on and on

I can manage to make this work consistently when I know exactly how many notes are in the chord but if there are more or less notes, then the outputs are not consistent.

The output that I need is 1st note is always CH1. 2nd note is always CH2 regardless of how many notes were in the input chord. I am thinking there’s maybe a way to multiply the variable chord so that every Dispatcher always receives 16 notes thus filling all the channels and no cycling. I haven’t yet thought about how I would discard the extra notes though.

Any suggestions appreciated, Thanks.

If I’m able to make this work the strum possibilities are endless as one can have different note intervals in a strum at varying delay rates, lengths, velocities and or probabilities, all mapped to a midi controller OH MY!!. I drool every time I think about it, but I am not yet over this particular hurdle.

Any suggestions appreciated, Thanks.

Hey @JoeyButters, pretty ambitious stuff for someone who describes themselves as a newbie!

I don’t know if what you’re wanting is possible at present. Without seeing your current development patch (upload it - it might get someone thinking…), my best guess at achieving what I think you want is rather clunky and would involve a some controller telling Midihub how many notes are in the next chord before you play it. Not very ‘natural’!

PS. thx for the like on Fluid Tempo Changes; I’ll post up my first ‘proof of concept’ soon (for what it’s worth!)

1 Like