Auto connect Midi with translation step

Hi folks,

Looking for some advice on the best (for me that means as simple as possible and low latency) approach to achieve the following:

• two midi sources (akai LPD8 and korg electribe 2) to be sent to Midi out, with some modifications to the signal of each:

• LPD8: non-zero CC values on some specific CC numbers to be converted to a value of 127.

• electribe: midi notes from several specific channels to be merged into a single specific channel

I’m a pi beginner. So far I have managed to use aconnect to get the basic midi routing working, with the midi from the two devices being sent out from the pisound to other hardware.

Research so far to achieve the translation step and also getting it to setup automatically on each boot lead me to:

• pure data for the midi translation (is there something more lightweight that is suitable?)

• amidiauto or amidiminder for the automatic setup on boot (if I’ve understood correctly, I’ll need the latter in order to integrate pure data or whatever I use for the midi processing, since amidiauto won’t do a hw-sw-hw chain ?)

Am I on the right track with these thoughts?

On a more basic level, I believe I have installed amidiauto but not got it so it starts automatically, I am using Raspberry Pi OS not Patchbox and would prefer to keep on Pi OS if possible.

Thank you!

Yes, PD and one of amidiminder or amidiauto would work. amidiauto could form such a chain, but if any of your devices has more than 1 USB MIDI port, you should use amidiminder instead, otherwise they’re quite similar.

Instead of PD, if you know how to write code, you could write a Python script that uses some MIDI library like RT MIDI and performs the logic that you’re after.

Hi Giedrius,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes I know a bit of Python so would be nice to use one of those libraries to write my own solution for the midi processing.