Amidiauto on latest Raspbian

I’ve just installed a fresh copy of Raspbian “Buster” Lite on a spare raspberry pi for the first time.

I would ideally like to use the amidiauto system for using MIDI devices easily, but it doesn’t seem to compile correctly on this new version of the OS. Or at least I think it isn’t working, I’m not very experienced in compiling.

When I clone the amidiauto and run “sudo make install” it gives me this error:
cp: cannot create regular file ‘/usr/lib/systemd/system/’: Not a directory
make: *** [Makefile:38: install] Error 1

I recognise that I could install Patchbox instead, but I’d rather not at the moment for various reasons. I also recognise that this OS has only been out for a few days! Any tips for getting it working?

Try doing:

sudo mkdir -p /usr/lib/systemd/system/

then run sudo make install again.

I haven’t tried the new Raspbian myself yet, so not sure if this will really fix it.

great minds think alike, I just tried that! restarting now…

ok well it didn’t throw any errors on install, and it put the amidiauto.service file in that folder, but I don’t think it’s actually working - my PD patches that use midi input aren’t working, and the normal messages that I’ve seen before when using amidiauto aren’t coming up.

so there might be some bigger issues to do with the new Raspbian OS that are making this difficult?

I’m reasonably sure that it did install, if I run amidiauto -version then it shows me “Version 1.01” etc.

Is PD configured to use ALSA MIDI? What is the output of aconnect -l when MIDI gear is connected, and PD is running?

oh right, I was being kind of dumb and forgetting to launch amidiauto correctly.

when I do that, it gives me this error:
Reading ‘/etc/amidiauto.conf’ failed! (-2)

sure enough, amidiauto.conf does not seem to be in the /etc/ folder.

oh wait I have it working! I don’t know why yet.