Sunvox on Patchbox OS?

Hi there!

I’m wondering if anyone has managed to have Sunvox (the modular synth and tracker tool) running on Patchbox OS?

I’m on a Raspberry Pi 4. If I use the default Raspian OS, Sunvox works fine. But on Patchbox, when I launch it by double-clicking the file, it doesn’t do anything.

I tried to launch it via the console and got this error:

patch@patchbox:~/Downloads/sunvox/sunvox/linux_arm_armhf_raspberry_pi $ ./sunvox
./sunvox: error while loading shared libraries: libSDL2-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

What’s that libSDL2 thing and how do I get it?
Is that something I can install via the apt thing? If so, what would be the command?

(I’m fairly new to Linux. Sorry if it’s a very basic question.)

Trying to launch miRack (a VCV Rack fork for Raspberry Pi and other platforms) causes a similar error message but with a different library?

$ /opt/miRack/Rack 
/opt/miRack/Rack: error while loading shared libraries: libGLESv2.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

How do I install this libGLESv2.so thing?

(if you prefer, I can ask this question in a separate post)

Hey, see https://warmplace.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4454 (found it by digging through SunVox manual)

Looks like you have to install libsdl by doing:

sudo apt install libsdl2-2.0

or using the GUI tool as shown in the link.

For miRack, see: https://github.com/miRackModular/Rack#raspberry-pi-notes

Looks like you have to enable the GL driver using sudo raspi-config

1 Like

It worked for Sunvox. Thanks a lot!

As for miRack, I think it might be incompatible with the RPi 4. I tried it on regular Raspbian (not Patchbox) and have the same error. I will try to contact their developer.

Update: I managed to have miRack running. I installed a bunch of packages until it worked. I’m not sure which one made it working. I’m just glad miRack is working on Patchbox.