Mapping ranges of notes for controls?

can note ranges from a midi keyboard be mapped to transpose

use case
sequencer > midi hub (transpose controlled by using midi keyboard notes) > synth

Hey, Rick (welcome to midihub forum)

Do you have a Midihub or are you checking out capabilities in case you might get one?
(dunno how in-depth to go)

Does “transpose controlled by using midi keyboard notes” mean – using say C3 as 0 – when you hold down D3 it transposes +2?
Or same but just when you hit the key (then stays at that transpose until you hit another)?

I assume the keyboard is not playing notes too?

I’m looking at a solution for a potential purchase.

I have a master keyboard that is just used for transpose. all sequences are programmed in the key of ‘C’ so pressing a note on the keyboard changes the transpose.
It works with modular and Ableton live, but there are other midi note sources that I need to also transpose in the same way.
one is the output of the Korg sq-64 sequencer cannot be transposed by external midi.
Would a midihub take the output and then transpose using the note value set by the keyboard?

Also seen there are other effects it can do, that may be useful too.

operation is press the note on the keyboard and the value stays set regardless of note off.
say C3 is the root and E is pressed the transpose would be set at +4

How does the editor work with handling mapping a range?
I had a look at the editor, and the mapping bit (which isn’t enabled without the hardware) would show that.

Thanks for clarification.

The short answer is. Yes, but not directly.

Why not directly?

• If you mapped a key to the Transpose Semitones property, it would respond to the velocity of that key…
    …and return to 0 (= -64 semitones) when you released.

• Mapping values are taken directly (ie un-transformed) from a given DIN/USB IN.
    So, for example, a set of buttons each toggling to a different value/velocity, that would work.