Support for boot from USB? Pi 4b

Does patchbox OS support booting from USB since this is now supported in the new Raspberry Pi firmware?

Sorry if a basic question just want to be sure, I want to avoid SDCard corruption and decrease boot time by using an SSD.

As described in this article:

Many thanks!

1 Like

Someone has to just try it out. :slight_smile: It’s unclear just from the article whether the kernel must be of some certain version or if the firmware upgrade is enough.

Yeah I was hoping someone already had :slight_smile:

I will give it a go soon and post back.

In case it doesn’t work with the realtime kernel build Patchbox OS uses, you may try switching to regular kernel:

sudo apt update && sudo apt install raspberrypi-kernel
1 Like

Okay, I just tried it, and it’s working! Pi 4 (4GB) with a Kingston DT50 (USB 3.0, 32GB) USB drive.
Won’t lie, being an absolute noob at using raspberry pi, linux, etc., I’m feeling pretty good about myself :smiley:
Well, just followed the instructions from the article posted above.
To sum up, though…

1. I followed the exact instructions given here until I reached step #7.
  2. Instead of copying the SD card to the flash drive (since I wanted patchbox and not the RPi OS that’s on the SD card), I flashed an image of patchbox on my usb drive using balena etcher.
  3. Continue from step #8 onwards

In case you’re looking to set a boot priority order and other settings, this is the page to refer to.

Side note: