Help Understanding Slaving a USB connected Device

I’m very new to the Midihub (in fact haven’t even received the device yet) but trying to understand and build a basic patch which will sync up several devices. I need help understanding how the device which will be connected to Midihub via the USB port is treated. Here is a rough explanation. There are several devices that I will syncing up and among them an Octatrack and a diy Norns. The Octatrack will be the master. The Norns will be connected to Midihub’s USB port. So essentially a basic patch to get them working together off the Octatrack as master would have OT going into DIN A and the patch will say something like From A —> some midi filtering —> to virtual A. Following that Virtual A will distribute those messages to the other devices conntected to the various DIN ports. But Norns isn’t connected that way. It is connected to Midihub’s USB. How then do I tell midihub to slave Norns to the Octatrack. There are the various “To USB” pipes, but I don’t. quite understand which USB (A, B, C, or D) to select. Any help understanding this would be appreciated.

Hi, see MIDI Port Mapping - Midihub Documentation - Norns is running on Linux, so there will be 4 ALSA MIDI ports on the system, each corresponding to one of the USB letters on Midihub.

I haven’t used Norns, but most likely there’s some settings menu letting you pick which port ID to use (or maybe it configures itself automatically to use all the ports available?). If not, you likely could ssh into the device and use aconnect to make the port mappings yourself. :slight_smile:

Hi there, I will be using the same setup but with a ( Norns + Midihub ) +Digitakt and a Digitone.
I would like to know how everything did work out for you, and if you are powering the Midihub from Norns with no issues.