Help getting the output audio buffer from MODEP, sent via websocket

Hello -

I’m new here and still in awe at discovering this community, and the potential of patchbox + modep possibilities.

A project I wanted to try is broadcasting the output audio buffer from MODEP to a local (or remote) webpage via websockets. Then in a browser I can do fun stuff with the waveform using three.js, glsl, etc… I’m new to linux tho and struggling to get this to work. Not sure the best place to start. Here’s what I’ve tried so far:

1. run a local node.js server on the Pi. Capture the output audio stream from MODEP and send it out as a float array via websockets. I’ve confirmed this will all work fine for my use case, except, I can’t find a node.js library that will let me capture the output from MODEP. Several come up when I google this question (like this one, for example) , but none seem to work (or I don’t understand how to make them work).

2. Reverse engineer the MOD UI server, and have that send the output audio buffer out via a websocket connection. It looks like it already uses websockets to control the MOD host effect, but I’m unclear if the MOD UI even has access to the audio buffer.

Is there a better, 3rd option? Again my goal is just to get the output audio waveform sent via a websocket connection from the Pi. Any hints much appreciated! Thx!

I actually found another way to get the audio buffer using webaudio in a browser. I can get the microphone input with something like this.

By default, this is just the input audio, not the processed audio that MODEP outputs. However in patchage if I plug an effect out into PulseAudio JACK source, then I can see the final waveform.