Getting started and documentation feedback

Ok, guys. I’m a musician, not an engineer. I have followed these steps, also tried the process exactly as shown on the blokas.io startup docs. Nothing worked. I mean, the list commands show all the devices active and in place, but no audio output through the pisound output jack.

After hours of frustrating attempts to read what are clearly engineering documents and not user instructions, I managed to switch the system default sound output and midi to the pisound card rather than base ALSA. That gets me pretty decent sound output when I play an mp3 file through audacious.

But nothing, and I mean NOTHING, I try gets any midi activity. I found documents on the web telling me I have to disable pulseaudio and run jackd (tried, what a nightmare of unintelligible gobbledygook that was) but it still didn’t work. So I’m back to the basic setup.

Pure Data is installed but doesn’t seem to start from the button press. (No, I haven’t played with the button scripts at all. I’m afraid to mess with them.) It does run from the command line or the desktop menu. I’ve tried to get it to generate midi note on and off commands to get sounds, but no results. Nothing happens. I’ve tried several times to make sense of the Pure Data documentation, but it only gives me headaches. I have no idea what half of it is talking about. Every discussion I can find.

I’m not stupid. I’m a long time Linux user, and worked for 20 years as a network manager. I have used midi devices on and off for a long time too. Clearly something is missing here. Every tutorial gets up to the point where it says MIDI…install Pure Data. And seems to think that’s all there is to it.

All I really want is to get this gadget to where I can power it up, (headless, no keyboard or monitor,) and perhaps press the button once or twice to get my desired default setup. Plug in a keyboard device (I have several, both USB and 5 pin connector) and an amp cable, and play.