Euclidean pattern generator (midi)?

Recently discovered this:

https://www.hisschemoller.com/blog/2019/music-pattern-generator-v2-1/

Seems to be an linux version there too (but big in size), anyone with linux skills who might know if this would be possible to install into the patchbox os?

You could just try opening https://www.hisschemoller.com/mpg/ in a browser and see if it works.

It probably can be installed locally too, using node.js stuff and npm command.

Probably using commands like these, assuming npm is already installed, run from the folder containing the source code:

npm install
npm start
npm start-nw # Or possibly this command to start it

Would opening it in a browser (on my raspberry pi4) indicate anything of the potential regarding it being functional when installing it in patchbox os locally?

I’m a total newbie regarding all things linux and/or raspberry pi.
Even though I have managed to get stuff functional so far it still is confusing whenever I see any examples of command lines. I’m always wondering about what underlying knowledge/experience it is that I’m supposed to know already. I e what is npm command?

I’m not sure what node.js actually is even though I’ve stumbled across its word/name several times…

I’m not refraining from digging in. It’s just: how/where to start (when having a slightly more specific goal). Maybe I’m complicating things more than they actually are regarding the idea of creating my own modules to install into patchbox os.

You’re on a good start, the knowledge is accumulated as you go along with your projects. Also some things can be considered as black boxes which internals you don’t need to understand, just what they do. :slight_smile: npm is a package manager for ‘node.js’ based projects.

Yes, if it works in the browser, it means you can be assured it will work when installed locally.