Creating a Pianoteq box

Hi! I’m a total newb when it comes to Linux but I’ve managed to slowly get Patchbox installed and running as well as Pianoteq 6 running with my license.

Now my goal is to make a box that I can just plug my MIDI controller into and play piano whenever I like, so I’d like this to be headless.

I can’t for the life of me figure out how to make Patchbox autostart Pianoteq. I’m in desktop mode, should I be using console instead?

Also, at some point during initla setup I selected a minimoog patch thinking it’d be fun to have that launch at startup… I no longer want that and can’t figure out how to stop it from happening. I’m going out of my mind.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

Hi, select the ‘none’ module in patchbox utility’s modules menu to disable autostarted software. Or just run:

patchbox module deactivate

For Pianoteq, check this out: https://github.com/CarlColglazier/pianoteq-patchbox-module

It expects the Pianoteq binary to be installed in /usr/local/pianoteq/pianoteq:

sudo mkdir /usr/local/pianoteq/

# Update the first path argument to the actual
# path to the binary of the full version:
sudo cp ~/Downloads/.../Pianoteq /usr/local/pianoteq/pianoteq

Finally do:

patchbox module install https://github.com/CarlColglazier/pianoteq-patchbox-module

It should end up autostarting the Pianoteq on system startup.

Awesome! Thank you so much, that worked swimmingly!

Now when I start the Pianoteq module is active, but the Pianoteq app has not launched. If I want to tweak the sound or load other patches I would be doing all of that within the module, is that correct? (and possibly doing to Button programming)

Have any resources you could point me to for that process?

Thanks again, huge help!

That’s possible too, a couple of modifications are in order:

First install a missing dependency of patchbox-cli for this to work: (won’t be necessary any more for versions above patchbox, version 1.3.2)

sudo apt install libgtk-3-bin