Basic help for a beginner

I am new to setting up hardware and have a few basic questions about my MIDIHUB.

Firstly, I have changed the default names of the 4 MIDI pipes to match that of the hardware I have connected. It works well in the editor BUT, when I load my DAW the names are not showing there. In the DAW I just see the standard names that were like this when I first set up the device. But it is not very intuitive and I would like to see the new names that I specified to show here, is that somehow possible?

Secondly, I do not understand what the 4 USB MIDI pipes are. I have 4 MIDI cables going into the device and 4 MIDI cables coming out, so the 4 MIDI pipes make perfect sense to me, as they represent these cables. BUT there is only 1 USB lead connecting the device to the computer, so I am very confused as to how there are 4 USB pipes. Someone, please help me understand this.

Finally, If I want to send MIDI from my computer to one of my hardware synths. Do I use a USB pipe or a virtual pipe?

I know these are very basic questions, sorry about that. But if anybody could help me, it would be much appreciated.
Thank you

Us too, but unfortunately major OS drivers don’t query let alone expose the port name strings from USB MIDI device, instead, they rely on the device’s name itself. There’s nothing Midihub can do to make the OSes listen.

USB MIDI devices can have multiple internal ports, so even though there’s one USB connector, Midihub is recognized as supporting 4 bidirectional MIDI streams, so each USB port pipe represents one of those USB streams. See MIDI Port Mapping - Midihub Documentation for which letter corresponds to which name in your DAW.

To get MIDI from your PC to Midihub and back, use FROM USB X → TO MIDI X and FROM MIDI X → TO USB X.

Thank you for the fast reply and information.